Offering at once some of the most majestic, stark, and striking scenery on the Maine coast, this lighthouse sits atop unique rock formations which reflect the result of waves pounding this area in strong storms. Commissioned in 1827 by John Quincy Adams, this light is located at the west side of the entrance to Muscongus Bay.
The original lighthouse was of faulty construction and therefore replaced by a 38-foot stone tower in 1835; a fourth - order Fresnel lens was added in 1856. A wooden keeper's house replaced the initial stone structure in 1857. The fog bell house and tower were constructed in 1897 and included a hand-cranked mechanism, which powered the striking machinery. In 1934 the bell was removed.
During the years 1903-1917 four major shipwrecks occured on the rocks at Pemaquid Point, most notable among them theBritish vessel Angel Gabriel. The light, visible on a clear day for 14 miles, was the first in Maine to be automated in 1934. The Keeper's house now houses the Fishermen's Museum, which is operated by the town of Bristol, displaying artifacts of Maine lighthouses and the fishing/lobster industry. A park area is adjacent to the lighthouse grounds, easily accessible with parking
The tower is now under the care of the American Lighthouse Foundation.
From U.S. Route 1 in Damariscotta, turn onto Routes 129/130, then follow Route 130 south to its end at Pemaquid Point. Alternatively, from U.S.1 in Waldoboro, turn south onto Route 32 and follow that route through New Harbor to the junction with Route 130. Turn south (left) onto Route 130 and follow the road to its end at Pemaquid Point. To view the lighthouse by boat, cruises are available out of Boothbay Harbor or from Maine Maritime Museum in Bath.